Reflection #6

Reflections

 

How would you use an interactive whiteboard in your future classroom?

I would utilize an interactive whiteboard in my classroom frequently. From what we have covered in class, it appears that they can be used in for: review, lessons, assessment, and even fun.

 images.jpeg

  1. In my last tool evaluation I discussed a problem that an interactive white boarding software could easily solve. This was that students will miss lessons when they are absent, and the interactive white boarding software educreations.com solves this issue. I would use this software and post my lessons for students to access outside of class.
  2. Considering my elementary concentration, I will likely be dealing with phonics instruction. In a video we watched, a kindergarten class was using the whiteboard to spell and sound out words. I would do this in my classroom by recording myself saying a word and then having students selecting the appropriate letters. I could do this using Screen Shot 2017-02-22 at 1.30.08 PM.png.
  3. I would also use it for classroom duties. It would make taking attendance and getting lunch count much more efficient. I would have students either drag a copy of their picture or icon, or check their name off when they come in. They would also select their lunch choice. Students would like this because they get a chance to use the board as they enter the room as well.

What excites you most about what you have learned in this course?

The most interesting, and I believe one of the more effective, way to use technology is for assessment. The many quiz softwares like Kahoot and PearDeck seem incredibly useful. I also think they seem much more engaging than a normal quiz or presentation. I look forward to incorporating technology into my ways of assessment.

Leave a Reply

